Posted in Battlefield, Interest

I Got Schooled

In my twenty two years of existence, nearly twenty three, I got schooled by different people. Some mattered to me, some just didn’t. For whatever reasons they come and go, I’d always remember. Never will I forget.

I got schooled by my Mother, my confidant, my fairy godmother. She taught me how to be strong and smart and confident and brave. And that life is full of rainbows and thorns. In that she taught me to choose my own battle, that not all battles are worth fighting for, so I should choose wisely. She taught me the true meaning of friendship, that it is not what is in your hands that is yours but it is what is left when you learn to let go. So to you, Mom, thank you for getting me schooled.

I got schooled by my best friend, alive and breathing. She helped me sort my insecurities and helped me analyze my strengths and weaknesses. She said that rainbows come after the rain and that it can’t rain forever. She hugs me every time I needed comfort, and taught me how to hug myself first because I can’t give what I do not have. She’d been the living proof of selfless love, and that you don’t need to be blood-related to be sisters. So to you, Carla Azalea, thank you for getting me schooled.

I got schooled by this special person. Jolly, strong, inspiring,  full of dreams, full of life, before his leukemia hit him hard. He taught me to be patient and hopeful, that life is precious I shouldn’t waste any second. He said time on earth is limited there shouldn’t be any wasting. And he proved to me that love can traverse another dimension. Love never fades, love still hopes. For that one day, love can still reunite in God’s perfect time. He helped me build myself, be independent, be courageous, be selfless, be passionate, be considerate. He proved that friendship can last a lifetime, even if death eats it away. So to you, my precious one, my heart will never grow tired of waiting, so thank you for getting me schooled.

I got schooled by a reader, who checks in from time to time. For I never really know the connection we have, but I’ll always be thankful for it. You might be reading this portion now, be assured that you taught me so many things in your unspoken words without you knowing it. I learned to be more  tender and more expressive. I hope you could say anything to me because what you would say matters. It matters because you taught me that there are people who would listen, even if in silence. So to you, mister or miss, I hope to be friends with you, thank you for getting me schooled.

I got schooled by a blogger, a sweet, honest, sincere blogger. He said that this world is full of shit and I should never let it get into me. Said attachments are blessings in itself already. And that I learned to live and love boldly, that this world is not perfect but it is worth all the risks. This blogger, who despite all his fears and hesitations still chose to open up his heart to others, because his capacity to love is bigger than him. He taught me that friendship can be found in a virtual world, and that this virtual world is not bad at all. After all, everyone needs to be heard and understood, and whatever the blog says, it matters. So to you, Mr. C, thank you for getting me schooled. 

And I got schooled by a boy…whom I’ve truly, madly, deeply been in loved with. He made me feel several emotions at once. Taught me on how to cope up with pain, and that love is not just about the colorful parts. He helped me appreciate my imperfections and that it is okay to make mistakes from time to time. He taught me that there are things that can’t be returned to normal when broken, and that time can heal everything. So to you, thank you for getting me schooled.

And I got schooled by life. And it is the best lesson of all! 

Author:

Well. This is, for most of the time, the hardest part to fill in. Maybe because I am not the type of person who loves to talk about herself. But in this site you can read the pieces of my life, my ups and downs, my victories and defeats. This is the only outlet where my brain can team up with my heart. For everyone who can't construct the words in the clouds of life. Happy reading! ❤️