Posted in Uncategorized

Why Is It Hard To Say GoodBye?

Hi! I’m really in a hard time today, overthinking and over analyzing things again. I know it is not good to have this such habit, but I can’t help myself from critiquing my emotions, most especially if it is bombarded by intense one. Since I have no classes today, and I don’t want to start my school works now, I’ve been thinking of “something” that’s really bothering me maybe a week or two already…

HOW DO YOU FEEL WHEN YOU SAY “GOODBYE” TO SOMEONE ELSE?

Yes, this question keeps on popping out of my mind. There are times in our life that we really need to say goodbye. Like when we go to school, we bid goodbyes to our parents, or siblings, or dormmates, or to anyone who lives with us. Same as when we go home from school, we say goodbyes to our teachers, professors, classmates and friends. There’s no negative feeling, right? It had been a routine. You get used to say it whenever you are leaving, or going away…

But the difference is, you know you could still see each other again… Maybe tomorrow, or next day after tomorrow, or even just few hours or minutes after you left… Then that’ll be the time that saying goodbye is hard, if you know it will never happen again…

SAYING GOODBYE IS HARD WHEN YOU’RE STILL NOT READY TO LEAVE, AND WHEN YOU KNOW, YOU STILL WANT TO STAY, LIKE FOREVER, BUT YOU HAVE TO GO.

That’s really a hard task to do. That’s what I feel right now. I don’t want to leave, I don’t want to go away, most especially, I like to stay THE SAME… But I guess, there are circumstances that no matter how we like to hold on for something, if that “something” needs to go, or has to leave, then you need to let go. You have to be brave, and be strong, and be selfless enough to let “it” go. Why is it really hard to do? I can’t come up with even a good explanation to make myself believe that I have to let it go…

MAYBE, the very reason why it is hard to do, is because, I really don’t want to let it go, first and foremost. Secondly, is maybe because the emotions are so intact that detaching from it alone is very hard to do also. And lastly, if it’s only you who is affected in doing so, it is a lot harder to say goodbye then…

Like for example, saying goodbye to someone you really love, who just passed away and you were not yet ready to let go of him/her. How will you deal with that? Of course, we could no longer control that, it is God’s own will and decision to let it happened, we don’t have to question that. But really it is very hard to say goodbye to that person, right? The very reason why, is the personal and emotional attachment. It is all about the memories you’ve shared together that haunts you with fear. I honestly could tell the very reason why someone feels lonely when someone left them behind for good. It is the emptiness they will feel when that someone is already gone. Just like in my very own situation, I can’t let go of that person, because maybe he or she is a very important person in my life, that all my ups and downs were shared with him/her, that everything about me is also a part of him/her, that it is considered to be a piece of jigsaw puzzle, that whosoever is missing, of course, the puzzle will forever be incomplete. That’s the very feeling when you’re unprepared, and somebody just left you… How could you really say goodbye, if there are things you still want to say, and things you still want to do, and stories you still want to share, and moments you still want to have together. It is really painful, that no one could understand what you’re into, because they’re not in your situation right now to realize how ugly you feel inside. Saying goodbye to someone who left you for a very uncontrollable reason, whom neither the two of you wanted it to happen, is a very very hard thing to do. All you could do for now is to cry, to just let all of the pain comes out and be relieved with ease. But that’s temporary, a day after, or even hours after, you will again feel that “emptiness” and “incompleteness”, and thinking of it again will surely cause pain…

We have different situations in saying goodbye, but it will always be with same reason that someone or something will go away or leave. Only the duration of time will differ, some will be gone for minutes only, or hours, or days, or weeks, or months, or years, or unfortunately, for forever.

BUT HOW TO DEAL WITH IT?

Of course we need to face it, we need to accept the fact that “things come and go”. So it will depend upon our own personalities then, on how to accept the “bitterness” of saying goodbye. There are people who can accept things fast, and there are also people, just like me, who need to go under a long process of acceptance before finally saying that it’s okay, or it’s already done. Of course nothing’s instant, that time heals everything. But whether we like it or not, we have to accept that nothing stays forever in our life. Even in our own selves, someday we will also bid goodbye to our very own bodies. So here are some of ways to cope up with these things.

1. Pray for God’s Guidance. Our faith will keep us going, and will always give us strength.

2. Talk to your family and friends. This will lessen the instances of your mind to think about your situation. It will also relieve you of the emotional burden, because someway and somehow, you will feel that you’re not alone in carrying the burden.

3. Divert your attention. As what I’ve said, it involves emotional and personal attachment. So to lessen the pain, you have to detach yourself from that attachment. Maybe by making yourself busy with other things and activities.

4. Be brave enough. Don’t make your world so small for that concept. Be brave enough to face it and accept it, and finish it. Maybe this will be a hard one to do, because it will depend to someone’s personality. But doing so will give you guts to move on!

5. Pray and pray and pray and pray. – You have to always do this if you want to be emotionally healed by the pain of letting someone or something go. Saying goodbye will always be hard, most especially if you still want to stay. But prayers will always give you strength and enlightenment, that no matter how hard it will be, there’s Someone up there ready to rescue you, and ready to heal you.

It is unavoidable to feel pain. We all experience different kinds of pain all throughout our lives. So I know I don’t have any right to tackle anything about this at all. But the mere fact, that at one way or another, my points are taken significantly, then I must say it is fair to speak for what my heart and mind were confused about. Really, we don’t know who will stay and go in our lives, but the thing I learned is that, we should always make the best out of the time we have with them. We should always live with happiness and love, because regrets after are no use…

Author:

Well. This is, for most of the time, the hardest part to fill in. Maybe because I am not the type of person who loves to talk about herself. But in this site you can read the pieces of my life, my ups and downs, my victories and defeats. This is the only outlet where my brain can team up with my heart. For everyone who can't construct the words in the clouds of life. Happy reading! ❤️

One thought on “Why Is It Hard To Say GoodBye?

Leave a Reply

