Posted in Uncategorized

The truth behind SELFLESSNESS

It is not what is in your hands that is yours, but it is what is left when you learn to let go…

This was one of my favorite quotes from my respected professor when I was still a freshie in college. He always gives me this kind of realization, and his words have always given me impact as to what makes sense and what’s not. He said this, out of nowhere, during one of our class discussions in Biology class. I don’t even remember why he said that, but the truth is, this I quoted from him made me realized that whatever I am holding now is not really mine. I was pretty puzzled before, as I could not really get the core out of it. Not until I’ve realized that it is essential, and this taught me a lesson.

There are times in our life that we are wanting for something. Others might want to get material things, others might want attention, others might be in need of affection. We are always looking for those things that will make us feel complete. But there are also times that we over look these things. Sometimes, reasons for having it are already beyond the limitations, and we often times neglect reality. Here I realized that whatever I have, is not actually mine. We don’t own anything even if it’s already within our grasps.

I won’t be in denial that I am selfish at times. I tend to be selfcentered because being the last child and only girl in the family, I usually get what I want (but not all the time). Those were the thoughts I have before, that whatever I have, it is mine. But it’s not true when it comes in reality. Most of the time, you could determine what is yours only after it is gone. That’s behind being selfless.

Not everything that’s in our hands is ours. Not everything that’s pleasing for our souls is ours. We could only identify the real OURS if we are selfless enough to let go of it and see what will remain. Being selfish hinders us to truly know what is really ours. At one way or another, we have to set free of it, just to be sure if its really ours to claim. So never be someone who closes his or her palms to have the grasp for something. Let us always be open-handed, so we will always know that what remains on it is the real thing we can claim. That’s the lovely truth behind selflessness – the very fruit of love and peace.

So, at this moment, have you determined already what is yours? Or are you one of those who close their hands and claim that whatever inside is theirs?

Author:

Well. This is, for most of the time, the hardest part to fill in. Maybe because I am not the type of person who loves to talk about herself. But in this site you can read the pieces of my life, my ups and downs, my victories and defeats. This is the only outlet where my brain can team up with my heart. For everyone who can't construct the words in the clouds of life. Happy reading! ❤️

Leave a Reply

